Congratulations to District Award Winners

Posted on Updated on

On Thursday, April 28, 2016, the District held its Annual Appreciation Dinner at St Alphonsius Church in Zionsville.

Thank you to Tucker Herbold for chairing the event and Con Sullivan for the detailed logistics work.

In addition to our regular District participants, we were honored by the presence of Scout Executive Patrick Sterrett and Assistant Director of Field Services for the Western Section Marilyn Lopez.

Our award winners were as follows:



John Ruggles

Arrowman of the Year

Stephen Heath Boy Scout Committee Chair of the Year
Beth Montano Commissioner of the Year
Jennifer Davis Cub Scout Committee Chair of the Year
Sharla Merrick Cubmaster of the Year
Jeffrey Heck District Award of Merit
Mark Pishon District Award of Merit
Greg Hoyes Firecrafter of the Year
Andrea Klemm Hooked on Scouting
Carolyn Goebel Hooked on Scouting
Emily Blue Hooked on Scouting
Kelly Kappes Hooked on Scouting
Lisa J. Bostock Hooked on Scouting
Sam Dennemann Sr. Hooked on Scouting
Scott Kuntz Hooked on Scouting
Timothy Kappes Hooked on Scouting
Greg R. Hoyes Scoutmaster of the Year
Amy Kiefer Spark Plug Award
Andrea Klemm Spark Plug Award
Carolyn Goebel Spark Plug Award
Christopher Bottorff Spark Plug Award
Chuck Bricker Spark Plug Award
Cynthia Carr Spark Plug Award
Daniel Bradley Spark Plug Award
David Agarwal Spark Plug Award
David DeMars Spark Plug Award
David Gusman Spark Plug Award
Emily Blue Spark Plug Award
Greg R. Hoyes Spark Plug Award
Jacob Massie Spark Plug Award
Jaime Shields Spark Plug Award
James Shields Spark Plug Award
Kelly Kappes Spark Plug Award
Mark Maucere Spark Plug Award
Mark Pishon Spark Plug Award
Michael “Mick” Witte Spark Plug Award
Ronald Penczek Spark Plug Award
Sam Dennemann Sr. Spark Plug Award
Thomas Petersen Spark Plug Award
Timothy Kappes Spark Plug Award
Warner “Turk” White Spark Plug Award
David Bruce Venture Advisor of the Year

The Spark Plug Award goes to a person who has shown an energetic dedication to scouting that he or she spreads to other members of their unit or committee.

The Hooked on Scouting Award goes to a person who has been involved with a unit for less than a year (in this case extended back to 2014 because of skipping awards for two years) and has immediately become an invaluable scouter in their unit.

The District Award of Merit is the highest National Council authorized award that a district can give to a scouter.

Scouters of the Year Award (Cubmaster, Scoutmaster, Advisor, Committee Chair, Commissioner, Firecrafter, and Arrowman) represent scouters who have represented the best ideals of their registered position within the district.

Congratulations to all of our award winners!