District Key 3 and Committee Members

On Thursday, December 17, 2015, the District Committee eligible voters met at St Luke’s United Methodist Church to review the Nominating Committee’s slate of proposed officer. The slate included the District Chair and district members-at-large as nominees subject to the vote of the District and the District Commissioner designate who is recommended for approval to the Council’s Board of Directors and the Council Commissioner Rick Tardy. The slate passed by unanimous consent.

The list below represents the current District Chair and the persons elected as District members-at-large. The District Chair appoints the district members-at-large to specific committee positions from time to time. The District Chair can shuffle the appointments as the needs so require. Consequently, the list below represents a blend of positions held in 2015 with new appointments for 2016, and appointments made since April 7, 2016.  The Vice Chairs are all new appointments. Other positions are currently hold-overs awaiting final appointments at the January 2016 District Committee Meeting.

Since we still have vacancies that the District is seeking to fill, the vacancies reported and the old reports on efforts to fill those vacancies remain here. The hope is that the old information will help us in recruiting new District members-at-large. The following information and more is available in an older PDF called District Needs Overview, which was written in May 2015. The most up-to-date information is below. If you wish to register as a District scouter, please read this article.

To review job descriptions for vacancies, where available, please click on the “vacant” link for the appropriate vacancy.

 District Key 3

DDistrict Chairmanistrict Chair:
John Wiebke

District CommissionerDistrictCommissioner:
Jeffrey Heck
(317)822-8220 ofc

District ExecutiveDistrict Executive:
Cornellius “Con” Sullivan
(317)813-7087 ofc;  (317)797-1545 mob

 District Vice-ChairsDistrict Vice Chairman

The Vice-Chairs are responsible for specific subdivisions of the District. These are as follows:

Vice-Chairs: Steve James (2015 District Chair), Scott Clabaugh (Council Scout Executive, retired), Sharla Merrick (Pack 358 and Troop 69), James Kacius (Troop 174).

District Committees Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 11.05.20 AM

Communications: Vice-Chair (to be appointed); Newsletter (Jeff Heck); Website (vacant); 500 Festival (Greg Jacoby); State Fair (Bill Cherry).

Programming: Vice-Chair (James Kacius); see subcommittees below

Membership: Vice-Chair (Sharla Merrick); Cub Scout Back to School Night (vacant); Webelos to Scout Transition (vacant); Spring recruiting (vacant); Venturing (vacant); Unit growth (vacant)

Development (formerly Finance): Vice-Chair (to be appointed); FOS to Scouters (Steve James); FOS to scouting families (Sandy Walters); Popcorn Kernal (Tom Petersen); Camp Cards (Andrew Himebaugh)

Nominating: Chair (Scott Clabaugh, immediate past Council Scout Executive)

Programming’s subcommittees

Advancement: Chair (Mark Pishon); Eagle Boards (Jerry Simon); Eagle Projects (co-coordinators-elect Bill Cherry & Rick Akers); Merit Badge Counselors (Mike Yates); Cub Scout advancement (vacant); Boy Scout advancement (Jim Beck); Venturing (vacant)

Camping & Outdoor Programming: Chair (Brian Crow); Summer Camps (vacant); Order of Arrow chapter advisor (John Ruggles); Firecrafter Ember advisor (Greg Hoyes).

Special Events & Community Service: Chair (vacant); Camporees (Stu Bowes); District recognition dinner (Tucker Herbold); Scouting for Food (vacant); Pinewood Derby (Bill Buchalter); Cub Fun Day (vacant)

Training for adults: Chair (vacant); Cub Scouts (vacant); Boy Scouts (Don Bievenour); Venturing (vacant); YPT (vacant); Council representative (Bill Cherry)

District ChaplainRev. Jim Brinkley

District Members-at-Large without portfolios

Name Other Duties in Scouting
Denise Purdy-Andrews Chair Council International Committee, among others
Vincent Hernly Scoutmaster Troop 73
Tom Martz

Chartered Organization Representatives
as voting members ex-officio

The Chartered Organization Representative (“COR”) is the glue between units and the District. The COR votes in District elections. The COR serves on District Committees.  The COR reports on the units’ needs to District.  The COR reports District’s activities back to the home units. COR’s have not been customarily active in North Star District. We are working to change this pattern to better serve our units and youth. Those with COR Training (Course #D72) and rated as “Trained” are marked with (*). Our goal is 100% trained by the end of 2016.

Chartered organization Township/Town Unit(s) COR
American Legion of Zionsville Zionsville P105, T804, C408 Ron Penczek
Christ the King Catholic Washington P175 Cheryl Beckerich
Church at the Crossing Washington T191 Nyle Kardatzke
Crooked Creek Elementary P179 Joseph Fitzgerald*
Eagle Creek Foundation Pike C1121
Friends of Fishback Creek Elem Pike P830 Fred Winter 
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Washington P174 & T174 Robert “Kim” Baxter*
IPS School 84 Washington P84 Robert Long
LDS Zionsville Stake Zionsville P586 and T586 Geoff Nielson*
Pike Twp Fire Dept Pike T343 Eileen Orban
Second Presbyterian Washington P18, T18 Catherine Cavey
St Alphonsius Catholic Zionsville T358, C358 Mark Maucere
St Andrew Presbyterian Pike (nearly) T269 Philip Votaw
St Luke’s United Methodist Washington T56 Jeff Heck*
St Paul’s Episcopal Washington T73 Brian Stephens-Hotopp*
St. Joan of Arc Catholic Washington P35, T35 Melinda Rivelli*
St. Luke’s Catholic Washington P171 Andrew Horton
St. Monica’s Catholic Pike P514, T514 Charles Meer*
Sycamore School Washington P64 Glenna Lykens*
Traders Point Christian Zionsville P98, T69,  C69 Stanley Sorgen II*
Zionsville Christian Zionsville P358 Laura Starkey* 
 New Augusta South PTO Pike P625 Pati Allison

Volunteers Welcome

If you would like to volunteer, you can contact us below:

4 thoughts on “District Key 3 and Committee Members

    […] Committee […]


    Rechartering Turn-Ins Report « CAC North Star Blog said:
    November 11, 2015 at 9:19 am

    […] Committee […]


    […] Committee […]


    […] Committee […]


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s